Following yesterday’s announcement of Serena Williams being named AP’s Female Athlete of The Year, today LeBron James takes home the title of The Associated Press Male Athlete of The Year. This marks James’ third time winning this distinction. James had a very busy year. Among other things, he opened his “I Promise” school in his hometown of Akron, Ohio, for at-risk children this year and continued to be an activist who won’t stick to just sports. He left the Cleveland Cavaliers again, this time for the Los Angeles Lakers, and has kept up his dominating play on the court. James is third male to win the award at least three times. Tiger Woods won in 1997, 1999, 2000 and 2006. He won at least one major in each of those years. Michael Jordan earned the award every year he won the NBA championship with the Chicago Bulls in 1991, 1992 and 1993.