“The Silence Breakers” of the #MeToo movement have been named Time’s 2017 Person of The Year. The individuals who have been silenced and been in the shadows for years and sometimes decades gave a voice to those who have been victims of sexual assault and harassment.

Why this matters: The concept of #MeToo was initially started in 2006 by activist Tarana Burke. The hashtag became part of the national conversation in October after celebrities on social media used it to share their own sexual abuse stories in the wake of the Harvey Weinstein scandal.

Actress Rose McGowan, who settled with Weinstein in 1997 after accusing him of rape, has stated that she wanted to expose how Hollywood supports and covers up a culture of silence in order to protect the powerful.

Notable quotes: “I could never imagine this, I could never have envisioned something that could change the world.” – Tarana Burke

“As women we have to support each other and stand up and say, ‘No more.'” – Alyssa Milano

Those who broke their silence came in ahead of f last year’s Person of the Year, President Donald Trump, and Chinese President Xi Jinping for Time’s annual award.